# Community Pricing Breakdown Compares Sanity, Payload CMS and Hygraph for 2026

A dev.to author's side-by-side cost analysis argues the three headless CMS platforms compete for the same Next.js project budget but hit paid tiers for different reasons — bandwidth on Sanity, compute on Payload, and a $399 monthly seat threshold on Hygraph.

Canonical URL: https://freelancenews.online/news/community-pricing-breakdown-compares-sanity-payload-cms-and-hygraph-e8fc3b02
Published: 2026-09-28T11:17:54.166Z
Updated: 2026-09-28T11:17:54.166Z
Source published: 2026-09-28T11:06:47.000Z
Event date: Not established
Review status: source-reviewed
Review method: Automated comparison against retrieved source text; not independent fact-checking.

## Report

A community post published on dev.to sets out a three-way pricing comparison of Sanity, Payload CMS and Hygraph for 2026, arguing that the three platforms are more often measured against other vendors than against each other. The author's stated premise is that all three compete for the same Next.js project budget in the $0–$1,000 per month band, but that the trigger pushing a team onto a paid tier differs sharply between them. Every figure below is the author's claim, not pricing independently confirmed by the vendors in the supplied material.

The author frames the piece as filling a coverage gap: most published matchups place Sanity against Contentful or Storyblok, while the Sanity–Payload–Hygraph triangle goes unexamined. The three are described as architecturally distinct — Sanity as API-first with usage-based billing, Payload as self-hosted open source with an optional managed cloud, and Hygraph as GraphQL-native with seat-gated plans. That architectural difference, the author argues, is what produces divergent upgrade triggers rather than any single headline price.

On Sanity, the post states the Free plan includes 500,000 CDN requests and 10 GB of bandwidth per month, while Growth starts at $15 per project per month when billed annually and raises those ceilings to 1 million CDN requests and 100 GB of bandwidth. Beyond those limits the author lists overage rates of roughly $0.008 per 1,000 CDN requests and about $0.10 per GB of bandwidth, with API mutations counted against a separate quota. Enterprise pricing is described as custom and gated behind a sales call, with public signals suggesting $1,000-plus per month for high-volume API tiers with SLAs.

Bandwidth, not seats, is what the author identifies as the near-universal upgrade trigger for Sanity. A marketing site is offered as the illustration: each page view requests 50 Sanity-hosted images sized between 200 and 400 KB, which the author says drains the 10 GB free allowance sooner than most teams expect. The recommended mitigation is to serve images through the @sanity/image-url builder with width and format specified explicitly, and to let next/image control which requests actually go out, rather than delivering originals. This is the author's advice, not a measured result.

For Payload, the post stresses that the open-source version is MIT-licensed and free to self-host, so the real cost is infrastructure rather than licence fees. The author's figures put a small Node plus Postgres instance on Railway at roughly $5–20 per month, a production-grade Railway setup at $50–150 per month depending on memory and storage, and a Vercel plus Neon combination at $0–25 per month at small scale. A stated caveat is that Payload's local API will not run in an edge runtime, so a dedicated Node process is required.

Presented as the managed option is Payload Cloud, which the author says moved from beta to general availability during 2026, priced at $40 monthly for Starter and $100 monthly for Growth. Included in the Growth tier, per the author, are three environments — local, staging and production — plus custom domains and email through Resend. No per-seat fee applies, the author notes, because access is governed in code through access control functions. Compute is what the author describes as Payload's upgrade trigger: scheduled jobs, background processing for uploads, or a media library outgrowing a small instance without memory spiking.

Hygraph is described as having the most restrictive free tier of the three, at three seats and one project, with a staging environment included on Free but at reduced rate limits. The author states the paid Professional plan costs $399 per month billed annually, includes 10 seats, and charges roughly $25 per month for each additional seat. The post calls this a significant cliff and notes there is no middle tier between Free and Professional.

Conditions the author says commonly drive teams to Hygraph Professional include needing more than three editors, running webhooks at production rate limits, per-environment content permissions, and content federation that queries external APIs from inside Hygraph. The GraphQL-native approach and content federation are conceded to be genuinely differentiated capabilities, yet $399 monthly is argued to be hard to justify for a small team when Sanity Growth at $15 monthly covers much of the same content modelling surface.

The post's practical framing is that each platform fails in a different dimension. Sanity's seat model is described as unlikely to bite teams under ten editors, while its bandwidth model might; Payload's constraint is persistent compute, with the author advising a budget of $50–100 per month minimum for a production-grade Postgres plus Node setup; and Hygraph's constraint is seats and the $399 threshold, which the author recommends planning for at the proposal stage rather than discovering mid-project.

The author's fit guidance is conditional rather than absolute. Sanity Free-to-Growth is positioned for marketing sites and blogs with few editors but high API traffic. Payload self-hosted is positioned for teams that want no platform lock-in and can manage their own infrastructure, and is noted as the only option in the set with a fully custom access control system in code. Hygraph is positioned for cases where content federation is load-bearing — pulling multiple APIs into a single GraphQL layer that editors experience as one content surface — and the author states that at $399 per month that feature needs to justify the premium over Sanity.

For freelancers and small studios, the most transferable point is the mismatch between how these platforms are usually evaluated and how they actually bill. A team choosing on seat count alone would misjudge Sanity, which the author says bills on usage; a team choosing on licence cost alone would misjudge Payload, where the licence is free but persistent compute is not; and a team choosing on feature parity alone would misjudge Hygraph, where the jump from three seats to ten arrives with a fixed monthly commitment. The author's advice to model the upgrade trigger before launch, rather than after, is the practical through-line.

Several limits should be kept in view. The figures come from a single community author and are not corroborated by vendor pricing pages in the supplied material, so they should be treated as one person's reading of the market rather than confirmed rates. The post does not state when prices were last checked, and the Payload Cloud tiers are described as moving from beta to general availability during 2026, which means those numbers may be provisional. The illustrative bandwidth scenario is a hypothetical calculation, not a measured deployment, and the Sanity enterprise figure is explicitly characterised as a public signal rather than a published price.

The comparison is also scoped to a particular kind of buyer: Next.js projects in the $0–$1,000 per month band with relatively small editorial teams. Nothing in the post addresses larger organisations, non-Next.js stacks, or self-hosted alternatives outside these three vendors, and the author does not test or benchmark any of the platforms. The value of the piece is in the framing of three distinct failure modes — bandwidth, compute and seats — rather than in any verified price list, and freelancers should confirm current rates directly with each vendor before quoting a client.

## Key points

- The author claims Sanity's Free plan covers 500K CDN requests and 10 GB bandwidth monthly, with Growth starting at $15 per project per month billed annually and overages around $0.008 per 1K requests and $0.10 per GB.
- Payload's open-source edition is described as MIT-licensed and free to self-host, with the real cost being infrastructure — roughly $50–150 per month on Railway for production, or Payload Cloud at $40 (Starter) and $100 (Growth) per month.
- Hygraph is described as having no tier between Free (3 seats, 1 project) and Professional at $399 per month billed annually with 10 seats and about $25 per additional seat.
- The author argues each platform fails differently: bandwidth overages on Sanity, persistent compute on Payload, and seat counts plus the $399 threshold on Hygraph.

## Practical implications — editorial interpretation

Editorial interpretation: freelancers scoping a Next.js build should model the specific upgrade trigger for the chosen CMS before quoting — image-heavy pages on Sanity, background jobs and persistent Node compute on Payload, and editor seat counts on Hygraph — because the cheapest entry tier is not a reliable predictor of the first paid month.

## Limitations and unknowns

All pricing figures come from a single dev.to community post and are not corroborated by vendor documentation in the supplied evidence; the author does not state when prices were checked. Payload Cloud tiers are described as moving from beta to GA during 2026, so those numbers may be provisional. The bandwidth scenario is a hypothetical calculation rather than a measured deployment, and the Sanity enterprise figure is explicitly described as a public signal, not a published price. No platform was tested or benchmarked, and the comparison is scoped to Next.js projects in the $0–$1,000 per month band with small editorial teams.

## Sources

- [1] dev.to: Sanity vs Payload CMS vs Hygraph: Pricing Comparison 2026
  https://dev.to/nayankyada/sanity-vs-payload-cms-vs-hygraph-pricing-comparison-2026-32pn
  Retrieved: 2026-09-28T11:17:25.979Z

## Claim references

- The author states Sanity's Free plan includes 500K CDN requests and 10 GB of bandwidth per month, with Growth starting at $15 per project per month billed annually. [source 1]
- The author lists Sanity overage rates of roughly $0.008 per 1K CDN requests and $0.10 per GB of bandwidth. [source 1]
- The author states Payload's open-source version is MIT-licensed and free to self-host, with infrastructure costs of roughly $50–150 per month on Railway for production. [source 1]
- The author states Payload Cloud is moving from beta to GA in 2026 with Starter at $40 per month and Growth at $100 per month. [source 1]
- The author states Hygraph Professional costs $399 per month billed annually, includes 10 seats, and charges about $25 per month per additional seat. [source 1]
- The author states there is no middle tier between Hygraph Free and Professional, describing the $399 plan as the platform's most common gotcha. [source 1]
